A Lovely Year of Finishes: March Finishes

Ah ya ya, what a month.  Between running a marathon during 40 degree pouring rain (yes, that whole-heartedly sucked but I’m glad I did it), business at work, family visiting, and throwing my wonderful husband a 30th bday party, it has been one crazy month.  Let’s take a look back at the goals for March and see how I did:

Here are my goals for March:

  1. Finish quilting on Quilt #2 of the This n That twin quilts
    Finished!
  2. Sew on labels and embroider name plates for the This n That twin quilts.  Then GIFT them (perhaps the bestest part of quilting, my friends!)
    Finished and gifted! – (To be blogged)
  3. Buy fabric for background and binding on the Here n There twin quilts to match the Parson Gray backing and prints I already have.
    Finished! (March 1st at that!)
  4. Cut fabric for Here N There twin quilts (I know – baby steps [no pun intended] – but I like crossing lots of steps off!)
    Finished!
  5. Finish both quilt tops for Here n There twin quilts
    Finished!  Most definitely NOT finished.  I have gotten through the majority of the piecing which means I have a huge stack of pieced strips with seams to be pressed.  Hoping to make much more progress this week.
  6. (If time) Cut fabrics for planned patchwork quilt from April Showers charm pack and Kona white
    Half-finished (that counts as something, right?).  I cut all of the charm squares while I was working on the Here N There twin quilts, but need to cut up the Kona white now.

Overall, some definite progress forward.  I knew this month would be a struggle with my schedule, but I still managed to finish and gift two baby quilts and move forward on three more baby quilts. I also worked on finished several side projects that were not quilt related.  1) a fabric pennant banner for hubs bday party 2) a burlap painted pennant banner (15′ ?) for hubs bday party 3) a new dog bed for Sir Oliver from duck cloth (for <$8!) and 4) a waist apron for dog treats to use at agility class with Oliver next month using leftover duck cloth.  #winning  I’m excited to get back into a productive groove for April – especially since I reorganized took over the guest bedroom in our house to make a sewing nook where I can leave my stuff out and ready to work on in small increments.  No more kitchen table sewing! And with that, I’ll leave you with some snapshot of this month!

Mrs QQ

This N That twin quilts

This N That twin quilt (one of two)

This N That twin quilts - different backings

This N That twin quilts – different backings

Fabric pennant banner for Mr QQ's party

WIP: Fabric pennant banner for Mr QQ’s party

Cutting up April Showers charm squares - umbrellas- squeeee!

Cutting up April Showers charm squares – umbrellas- squeeee!

Chain piecing Parson Gray fabrics for the Here N There twin boy quilts!

Chain piecing Parson Gray fabrics for the Here N There twin boy quilts!

Oliver enjoying his new digs while I sew away in the guest room.  We call him "The Supervisor"

Oliver enjoying his new digs while I sew away in the guest room. We call him “The Supervisor”

And one more for fun - my new running shirt "Live.Love.Run"

And one more for fun – my new running shirt “Live.Love.Run”

 

How did your goals go?  See what else others finished over at A Lovely Year of Finishes!  Thanks for stopping by.

(I now realize that I have missed my first Finishes linky party – whoops.  Anyways, enjoy the post and I’ll do better next month!)

I get so tickled by comments & blog-love - say hi and leave some love: