Finished Quilt(s): Here N There Twin Quilts

Well hi there!  It’s been the better part of six months since I posted anything on here but life happened this summer in a big way – we bought a house, we got pregnant, I got promoted to faculty, and we moved – all within 6 weeks!  We’re now adjusted and awaiting Baby QQ in March (more on this in a post soon). But what I’m here to share today is the finished Here N There quilts I made this summer for two special little twin boys.  Their parents are dear friends of ours and I knew they would be super duper so I needed a super duper quilt for each of them. I envision these boys being cultured world travelers so I went with a variety of fabric prints from Parson Gray collections. These prints are earthy colored and have a world market feel to them. The collections mixed together beautifully and I added a soft grey as the background (their mom and I share a love of grey). The pattern was very easy to put together and I love the inspiration of the pattern for a boy’s quilt (tractor trailer tires).

DSC_0147

I did straight line echoing the treads on my machine. Binding is a solid rust color and was hand stitched on each quilt. I only have pictures of one of the two quilts, but the second one was nearly identical, with the color blocks in slightly different positions. (Pardon the fold lines in the quilt) These quilts are larger than any other baby quilt I have made so far, but quilted up quickly and I really enjoyed making these!

DSC_0149

The backing was a pieced print from Parson Gray of little plus signs – a nod to where I met the proud papa – our nerdy high school for science and mathematics!

DSC_0155

Mr QQ and I both have a love for antique and used books and always stop in this wonderful bookstore in Asheville, NC when we visit. On our trip last new years, we found a 1940s vintage Peter Pan with beautiful illustrations to gift with the quilts. Here’s one final shot of the quilts & book packaged for gifting:

DSC_0160

 

More to come on Baby QQ’s quilt collection in the making.  Thanks for stopping by!

~Mrs QQ

 

One response to “Finished Quilt(s): Here N There Twin Quilts

I get so tickled by comments & blog-love - say hi and leave some love: