What would your dream sewing studio look like?

A phone call earlier this year from my mom came with a request.  For Mothers Day, she’d like my help to turn her office/sewing area / guest room into a full-time, dedicated sewing studio.  How fun is that?  So I’ve been twiddling my thumbs and jotting down ideas, but then I thought – duh, let’s get this party started and see what YOU would want in your dream studio!

Meg Hawkey's sewing studio (source)

Meg Hawkey’s sewing studio (source)

We’re not dealing with much of a budget, so I L-O-V-E the creative solutions I see on your own blogs.  Furniture you’ve re-purposed, storage solutions, tricks for setting up your area to maximize production.  That cutting table at just the right height with scrap bins below to catch selvages, the small side ironing board, the ruler storage solution, the design wall.  You guys are amazeballs.

So here it is, my friends – a call to all you quilty bloggers:

What is your favorite part of your sewing space?

What would you change if you could?

What would you include if YOU could design your own special sewing room?

Of course, it’ll all be centered around the mini quilt I made for her last Mother’s Day (j/k! well, maybe).  As always, each of your comments are loved and appreciated 🙂  I can’t wait to start to put these ideas together!

~Mrs QQ

7 responses to “What would your dream sewing studio look like?

  1. Here are my dreams for my one day studio. Which I will have.

    An entire wall for a design wall: I would just staple gun up white felt.
    A kitchen island from ikea with draws and shelves to use as my cutting board. There’s one I want that’s perfeeeeccccctttt.
    A huge, huge, huge sewing table in the middle of the room for quilting.
    An oversized ironing board.
    I would also want shelves of beautiful fabric displays.
    Oh, and pretty curtains and lamps.

    I can’t wait to see what you guys come up with!

    • Ha! She might have my head if I staple into the wall, but I think we can definitely put a large design wall up. I havent ever thought of a kitchen island for sewing, but it’d definitely have great storage and they are usually a little taller (nice not having to bend over much to cut). Pretty curtains, lamps, etc – most definitely!

  2. Totally jealous! Considering my sewing space is a folding table set up in the middle of our living room and I do my cutting on our dining room table, I don’t think you want any ideas for your space from me!

    • Dream big Kim! I’m a dining table quilter myself, but this project has me thinking about squeezing out a little sewing corner in our guest room so I’m not constantly packing up stuff up (talk about lack of productivity!). I feel your pain though 🙂

  3. My favorite part is of my sewing room is the design wall and that I have an entire room dedicated to sewing and crafting. If I could change anything, I would change the wall color- it’s a medium blue and it’s a bit dark. My plans to upgrade when we move include a kitchen island for cutting with drawers and shelves for storage; a new sewing table with an insert so my machine is level with the table instead of above and new shelving units for better fabric storage.

    Can’t wait to see what you and your Mom come up with.

I get so tickled by comments & blog-love - say hi and leave some love:

