A Lovely Year of Finishes: March Goals

I’m jumping on the bandwagon and joining the linky party at A Lovely Year of Finishes.  I’m a pretty goal oriented person, so I’m hoping laying out these goals monthly will work towards more finishes.

March is going to be a busy month.  I’ll be running the Asheville Marathon at the Biltmore Estate and Mr QQ will be turning the big 3-0 which means we’ll be hosting family visits and a party.  Mr QQ (a frequent marathoner and ultramarathoner) decided he wants to run 30 miles on his 30th birthday (no biggie for him) – but to do it during his party.  He’ll be doing five 6-mile laps with some of our friends joining in for a lap here and there while the rest of us hang out and enjoy some beers waiting for him to stop by between laps.  Word.

Sadly, this means I will have to pack up all my quilting mess from the dining room and clean up for the party a few days ahead of time.  Between the party and marathon, I’m a little short on quilting time – but – I am very near two finishes to start with!  (That’s not cheating, right?)

Here are my goals for March:

  1. Finish quilting on Quilt #2 of the This n That twin quilts
  2. Sew on labels and embroider name plates for the This n That twin quilts.  Then GIFT them (perhaps the bestest part of quilting, my friends!)
  3. Buy fabric for background and binding on the Here n There twin quilts to match the Parson Gray backing and prints I already have.
  4. Cut fabric for Here N There twin quilts (I know – baby steps [no pun intended] – but I like crossing lots of steps off!)
  5. Finish both quilt tops for Here n There twin quilts
  6. (If time) Cut fabrics for planned patchwork quilt from April Showers charm pack and Kona white

When I saw the April Showers collection announced I knew I would get my hands on some as soon as it released.  I ended up grabbing a charm pack for about $2 + shipping from Missouri Star Quilt Co‘s daily deals.  It’s got everything I love in fabrics: colors (gray!), diagonal stripes, gingham, polka dots, and UMBRELLAs y’all.  Umbrellas.  #TooMuch

A sweet family down the street from us recently went through a medical scare with their daughter, Piper, and I really really wanted to have a small quilt ready to send with her to the hospital that would brighten her time in recovery after surgery.  (Piper’s surgery went great and the results were beyond what everyone prayed for thankfully!) Unfortunately, I didn’t have a quilt sitting around to gift but it has inspired me to have a few on hand for events like this or to donate to the Childrens Hospital where I work.  With that said, I have a few charm parks that I have been stashing away wondering what to do with and I’m going to try to split them between a few charity quilts and etsy quilts this year.  April Showers will be the first and up next is a charm pack of Spring House.  These are fun, bright fabrics that are sure the cheer up a young’n – right?  All that to say, Goal 5 is to take a step and work towards one of these quilts this month.

What are you working towards this month – a big finish?  a new start?  Or like me, a bit of both?

Mrs QQ

2 responses to “A Lovely Year of Finishes: March Goals

  1. Thank you for stopping by my blog. I am also enthralled with Spring Showers, and I can’t wait to get my hands and rotary cutter on some. I love your organization and goal setting. Plus, your goal of quilts to give away is such a great direction to pick. Good luck with your marathon. It will loosen you up for getting back at the sewing machine 🙂

I get so tickled by comments & blog-love - say hi and leave some love:

