Quilting Plan: This N That Quilts

Now that I’ve got the tops and backs done for the matching quilts for my friend’s little twins, it’s time to think about the quilting design!  The original plan was to arrange the HSTs into chevrons that paralleled each other, but after my FMQ class last weekend and some design input from Mr QQ, the quilts ended up a bit differently!  I know have more “free space” within the quilt to play and (if I so dare!) FMQ.

So without further ado, here it is:

A little FMQ, a lotta echo stitching

As a self-diagnosed borderline OCD (okay, okay – “engineer”), I really like to sketch out the quilting plan and design on the computer (in PowerPoint here).  It serves a few purposes.  First, I can play around with several ideas and really see them come to life.  Second, it forces me to think about the order of quilting.  For instance, I plan to stitch-in-the-ditch along the printed fabric zig-zags.  Then I’ll echo stitch in the zig-zags and then echo stitch the diamonds.  After that, I’ll fill in the echo stitching in the zig-zag with some loopy/vine-y FMQ (after a little more practicing).  Optional additions will be FMQ flowers/hearts in the center diamonds and FMQ vine in the diamond echos as in the zig-zags.  Definitely don’t want to over-quilt these.  Whatcha think?

My teacher at the FMQ class made an excellent point about adding FMQ to your quilts: Practice on scraps, but practice on your quilts.  So what if it’s not perfect – the person you gift to will likely have no clue why you aren’t 100% in love with the quilting.  The only way to get better is to keep trying and go ahead and try on your quilts!  Doing a loopy vine will be a bit forgiving on a first try, and I think it fits the design of the quilt nicely.  Next up is using my new Frixion pens to mark the echo stitching lines and get these little quilts basted so I can get to it!

Side note:  While adding some new fabrics to my stash pile the other day, I showed Mr QQ the stack and made the saddest frownie face I could manage.  “Look hubs, I need more.  NEED.  *sigh*”  And you know what he said?  “You’re right hun – you need more reds, and navys, and blacks, and yellows, and purples.  Oh and greens – you have some greens but you need more blue-green greens, ya know?”  Goodness gracious I married a good one!

OH oh!  I have a few surprise projects coming up that I’m really excited to share with y’all so stop back by soon!

Happy Quilting,

Jenni

I get so tickled by comments & blog-love - say hi and leave some love:

