Kyle’s #NerdAlert Quilt: Finished

January 1 brought a new year and a new finish too!  I was so excited to finish the last bit on this quilt in the early morning of Jan 1, watching the sunrise over the blue ridge mountains.  We do a trip with several of our friends to a cabin in the mtns each New Years.  This year, Kevin and Sonia – friends of mine from high school and college – made the long trek from FL to NC to join us and introduce their sweet little boy Kyle to the group.  He’s about 4 months old, and while his quilt had a late finish, at least I got to gift it in person.  🙂  It was fun to watch his eyes track the vibrant colors of the quilt and I know he’ll get a kick out of the fabrics once he’s a bit older.  I sure as heck love the fabrics!

Overhead shot of the #NerdAlert quilt front

Overhead shot of the #NerdAlert quilt front

Kyle’s quilt was based on the fabrics.  Once I saw them, I *knew* I had to put them to use for him and even more so, I knew the fabrics needed to be cut into hexagons.  Because what makes nerdy fabrics nerdier than polygons?  No real pattern to use here, just this tutorial on machine piecing hexagons.  I spent a lot of time trying to come up with a name for the quilt, and really just ended up using #nerdalert on my instagram feed while documenting work on the quilt.  Needless to say, #NerdAlert stuck – hashtag and all.

Backing fabric from Zen Chic Comma line (picked out by Mr QQ).  Love how the quilting pattern looks on the back!

Backing fabric from Zen Chic Comma line (picked out by Mr QQ). Love how the quilting pattern looks on the back!

After finishing the quilting and binding, I decided that the solid hexagons in the center of each of the “gears” needed a little TLC in the way of embroidery.  The embroidered items are a mixture of space themes (both parents work at NASA – smart cookies!), science themes (his parents and I went to a Science and Math focused high school), and school themes (high school and college logos).  I used regular DMC floss from the local craft store and drew a general sketch with my water-erasable fabric pen.  Nothing fancy, but I love how whimsical/folksy some of the pieces came out.  And without further ado – lots of pictures of the details:

Set of chemistry beakers.  Erlenmyer flask anyone?

Set of chemistry beakers. Erlenmyer flask anyone?

Fly me to the moon

Fly me to the moon

Embroidered Block S logo from our college alma mater, NC State!

Embroidered Block S logo from our college alma mater, NC State!

A shooting star to accompany the space ships.

A shooting star to accompany the space ships.

Finishing this embroidery piece was easy as pi! (#nerdalert)

Finishing this embroidery piece was easy as pi! (#nerdalert)

Embroidered book

Embroidered book

Embroidered retired logo of our high school (NCSSM), nicknamed The Flaming Diaper

Embroidered retired logo of our high school (NCSSM), nicknamed The Flaming Diaper

Embroidered double helix / DNA symbol

Embroidered double helix / DNA symbol

Detailed shot of the binding and chemistry fabric

Detailed shot of the binding and chemistry fabric

Embroidered Name Plate

Embroidered Name Plate

The finished quilt is about 40 x 45 inches and was quilted by me on my Husqvarna Freesia. (Side note: much easier than quilting flannel!!!)  The fabrics on the front are all organic, purchased from Honey Be Good and include the Robotic collection from Birch Fabrics and Organic Kona Solids.  The shop owner of Honey Be Good (Karen) was so helpful and even included samples of coordinating solid fabrics in my shipment – talk about great customer service!  I was really pleased with the quality of the fabrics from Birch Fabrics – so silky and soft, yet dense.  High quality for reals.  (Sorry – it’s getting late and the National Championship game is on…I”m fighting sleep and getting delirious, much like the FSU play calling).  Honey Be Good is getting in the Birch Fabrics Charlie Harper flannel collection and it’s seriously tempting considering I have twin boy quilts on my “to do” list for this spring.  I’ve got to remember the struggle that was quilting flannels previously though with Olivia’s quilt.  But then again, flannel is so snuggly!!

Kyle is an adorable boy and I’m surprised I didn’t sneak into the backseat of their car before they drove back to FL – I need to go visit them again soon before he gets too big!  There’s something really awesome about having friends like Kevin and Sonia and seeing them start their family 🙂  My hope is for Kyle to enjoy the quilt whether it means snuggling it, rubbing the threads bare between fingers, dragging it through mud, or getting a leaky diaper on it during nap time.  Did I mention he’s adorable?  Sigh…so cute!

Update:  Got a picture texted to me of Mr. Kyle rocking his quilt at NASA daycare Tuesday.  WEEK.MADE.

IMG_20140108_104551

Linking up with Freshly Pieced WIP Wednesday & Crazy Mom Quilts Finish it Up Friday to share for the first time in a long while

Over n out,

Mrs QQ

24 responses to “Kyle’s #NerdAlert Quilt: Finished

  1. What a sweet quilt. I love all the little personalized touches with the embroidery there. Plus, my favourite fabric ever for your backing.

    • Thanks Sheryl! I detoured into a fabric store with my husband and he picked the backing fabric – I think he passed the test – it went great with the other collection 🙂

  2. All the detailed hand embroidery is awesome and thanks for sharing the story behind your relationship with this special couple and their son!

  3. Came across this on some random googling. Shared it with my friends. Absolutely love it. DeAnne – NCSSM Class of ’86!!!

I get so tickled by comments & blog-love - say hi and leave some love:

