Olivia’s Quilt: Finished

This past weekend I had the great joy of gifting my first quilt in more than a year and the first quilt completed on my new machine.  It was even more special because it was for my beautiful little niece, Olivia Grace.

Olivia's Quilt - Flannel Dutch Pinwheels

Olivia’s Quilt – Flannel Dutch Pinwheels

I fell in love with the marmalade fabrics at a quilt show this spring and when I heard they came in flannel cuts as well, I knew it was destined for a baby quilt.  I stocked up on a few charm packs, bought ivory quilting flannel to pair with it and set off to complete 336 half square triangles (HSTs).  After a little play, I decided to create a dutch pinwheel block with the HSTs and sketched up a quilt design.

The dutch pinwheels and diamonds in the sashing are outlined using stitch-in-the-ditch (SID) and all sashing seams were quilted SID.  In the ivory sashing and ivory borders, I echo stitched 1″ lines.  The quilting turned out pretty cool on the flannel backing.

SID and Echo stitching

SID and Echo stitching

I finished hand quilting the binding Saturday morning before we went to visit Olivia (now 4 weeks old) in the afternoon.  Talk about cutting it close!  I had never washed a quilt before gifting it, but knew it would be adorable a bit crinkly so I proceeded to take a billion pictures pre-wash and then about another million post-wash playing with all the settings on my new camera (Nikon d3200 – love! – it came just in time too!)  Turns out, it crinkled just the right amount after washing/drying and the flannel washed up beautifully soft.

Post-wash crinkly finish!

Post-wash crinkly finish!

The backing is very simple – just 4 panels of the grey-lemon flannel pinwheel print from the collection.  With a bit of planning, I managed to get a continuous pattern across the seams – who knew?  The back also features my new quilt label and a corner name plate, hand-embroidered, with Olivia’s arrival info.

September2013_138

Backing

It took a few months to finish up, and learning to quilt on my new machine with flannel led to some difficulties, but I couldn’t be happier with how it turned out!

Stats:

Time: 4 months

Fabric:

Quilting:  by ME! on my Husqvarna Viking Freesia 425 home machine

Finished Size:  40″ x 52″

Gifting: In person, just folded nicely using the Tucked Quilt Fold tutorial

Linking up like a crazy fool with everything because I finally have a freaking finish!!  Fabric Tuesday over at A Quilt Story, WIP Wednesday over at Freshly Pieced, Thursday Threads over at 627 Handworks, TGIFF, and Finish It Up Fridays over at Crazy Mom Quilts!  Go check out all of the wonderful projects going on at these sites, and if you’re here via one of them, Thanks and feel free to leave a note!

And now a stream of photos from my “photoshoot”!  (Side note: new camera = working out photog touch-ups so the color may seem a bit off in a few)

Post-wash crinkly finish

Post-wash crinkly finish

Post-wash crinkly finish!

Post-wash crinkly finish!

Post-wash

Post-wash

post-wash

post-wash

pre-wash

pre-wash

embroidered name plate

embroidered name plate

quilt label

quilt label

backing

backing

Oliver snuck in for a few

Oliver snuck in for a few

Helping model the quilt

Helping model the quilt

pre-wash

pre-wash

Little Olivia's birth info

Little Olivia’s birth info

squee!

squee!

Impromptu supply gathering = Need to buy some matching pants hangers before my next finish...

Impromptu supply gathering = Need to buy some matching pants hangers before my next finish…

SID and Echo stitching

SID and Echo stitching

Olivia's Quilt - Flannel Dutch Pinwheels

Olivia’s Quilt – Flannel Dutch Pinwheels

too cute

And one last pic that melts my heart – Mr QQ with Olivia…too cute

32 responses to “Olivia’s Quilt: Finished

  1. UM! HELLO. So much to love here. Ok. Where to start. I love the crinkliness. I love the quilting. I love those adorable little blocks in the sashing. So much love. This is beautiful! Also, your corner embroidery. HEY GIRL! You should be so proud of this one! What an amazing gift!

    • Good golly miss molly – thanks! Crinkliness is now a requirement for any baby quilt I finish – you wouldn’t believe how nervous I was to wash it! (Threw in TWO Shout Color Catchers, but not much bled). I finally have a finish to join the cool kids club with you!

  2. I have to say, I loved everything about this blog post! When I saw the picture of your quilt my first thought was ‘…pretty…’ completely entranced by it. Then I saw it was flannel, and I knew it was gold! Great job with it! I especially love the how you chose to do the back, with both a birth label (and in a corner too! : ) and then your personal label. I’m excited to see what else you create in the future!

I get so tickled by comments & blog-love - say hi and leave some love:

