WIP Wednesday: 08.28.2013


Howdy y’all and thanks for stopping by!

A short WIP Wednesday post today as I am a busy busy bee finishing up Ms Olivia’s (my new niece) flannel dutch pinwheel quilt!  When I last left you, I was quilting all of the tedious pinwheel outlines (read: lots of shoving carefully finagling bulky quilt back and forth in the machine throat!), and getting ready to start all of the echo line stitching in the sashing and borders.

My custom quilt labels arrived just in time to finish this quilt and I can’t stand how cute they turned out.  Big thanks to my girl Ashley over at Wasn’t Quilt in a Day for the recommendation (order yours here).

My custom quilt labels arrived!

My custom quilt labels arrived!  Now only if I could convince Mr QQ that I need a real featherweight….hmmm…

This week the quilt is quilted, trimmed, and the binding is sewn on the front so now I’m all snuggly under it and hand stitching the binding to the back.  Deadline is Saturday when Mr QQ and I will be crashing the newborn baby party and loving on Ms Olivia as she celebrates her (almost) 1 month bday!  I’m so excited to finish and gift this quilt to my very dear bro- and sis-in-law for their little one.

So with that, I’ll leave you with a few sneak peak pics from this week of sewing – taken with my phone camera because I’m anxiously awaiting the arrival of my new fancy camera this afternoon (more on that next week and I’ll finally be able to share good pics of the finished quilt after it’s gifted this weekend!)

Vanishing water pen is a miracle for echo lines.  Lots of threads to tie and knots to hide...

Vanishing water pen is a miracle for echo lines. Lots of threads to tie and knots to hide…

All cleaned up!

All cleaned up!

Embroidered name plate for the back corner

Embroidered name plate for the back corner

The FINAL stitch!

The FINAL stitch!

Sunday was b-e-a-utiful here in the North Carolina foothills so I put down the sewing and joined my boys at the Winston-Salem Dash game.  They have a gorgeous new park right in the heart of downtown and we got there early to snag a deck table in the outfield and enjoyed the game under the shade of a table umbrella.  It was a Pups in the Park event, so Mr. Oliver came along and I dare say, he really enjoyed it!

Check out some more works in progress over at WIP Wednesdays on Freshly Pieced and Thursday Threads at 627handworks and be sure to come back next week for the finished quilt reveal!!

Mrs Quasi-Quilter

8 responses to “WIP Wednesday: 08.28.2013

  1. Nice to meet you Jenni AND your sweet little niece, Miss Olivia Grace!
    Sew glad you came to visit my blog today. As you are a no reply blogger due to the wordpress thing, I decided to return the favour and am glad to see your pretty Pinwheel quilt. I sympathize with your description of trying to quilt using a small machine! I only have 6.5″ to the right of needle on my little Janome. Just be patient. Take lots of breaks, but then get right back at it and you will be done in no time! Looking forward to seeing the big finish! Your binding even looks sweet!

    • So nice of you to stop on over Lorna! You are so right – patience is the key. Thankfully, the quilt is off the machine as of late last night and now to finish the binding by hand! 🙂

I get so tickled by comments & blog-love - say hi and leave some love:

