WIP Wednesday: 08.21.2013

Well hello there!

This week has involved a lot of learning, a lot of quilting, and a whole lot of learning about quilting.  I’m too stubborn to take a class (also, my schedule isn’t well suited) so I read a lot online regarding machine quilting.  Problem with that?  It’s all scattered about so I missed some lessons early on.  Such as hiding your knot when you start a line of quilting.  So now I have a quilt with half knot-wads and half nicely hidden knots.  C’est la vie, my friends, c’est la vie.

My question this week is, how the heck do you keep the stitch from shortening up near seams?  Mine goes from 5.0 to 1.0, granted I’m quilting some thicker flannel seams…

Have I mentioned how awesome having a walking foot is?  How did I ever do it without one?

Have I mentioned how awesome having a walking foot is? How did I ever do it without one?

That said, I’m getting a lot better at SLQ and nearing the end of the quilting for my niece’s flannel dutch pinwheel quilt.  At this point, I have all of the block borders quilted (Stitch-in-ditch -SID), all of the diamonds outlined (SID), all of the large pinwheels outlined (SID), and half of the inner pinwheels outlined (SID).  Poor Mr QQ – I’ll complete a section of quilting, turn around from my table and give him sad sad puppy eyes while he’s watching TV on the sofa and say “Honey, could you please come hold this up so I can check it over?  Please?”  He obliges.  I do this partly because I really do want to step back and see the quilting, but really it’s equal parts that I want him to Ooooh and Aaaaaah over the quilting.  Again, he obliges and Oooohs and Aaaahs without me having to ask explicitly.  I married a good one y’all 🙂  Also, Oliver refuses to snuggle Mr QQ and instead supervises my quilting – what a sweetie!

Hot dog - a finished quilted block!

Hot dog – a finished quilted block! Time to start removing pins 🙂

Next up is echo line SLQ in the sashing and then the borders.  Then wham-bam-thank you ma’am, the quilting will be all wrapped up on this one.  I already have my flannel pink stripe bias tape prepped and will machine stitch it to the front and finish the binding by hand. Nothing beats hand binding.  Lots of love goes into the quilt during the hand binding.  And I get to snuggle the quilt while watching TV and stitching.  So in a way, I send along the snuggles too, right?

Back view - If you look close, you can sorta see the little pinwheel inside of the larger pinwheel.

Back view – If you look close, you can sorta see the little pinwheel inside of the larger pinwheel.

I’m also working on a hand embroidered name plate for the back corner.  It’s a touch I’ve always loved on baby quilts!

A little touch (and I clearly need to go damp this with water to get out the fabric pen...)

A little hand stitched touch (and I clearly need to go damp this with water to get out the fabric pen…)

Is there something special you do on baby quilts or do when you gift quilts?   Linking up with Freshly Pieced this week for WIP Wednesday.  (I may have a finish next week?!?)  In related news, this may be one of my last posts with terrible cell phone photos – if things work out (cross your fingers and toes for me?) I’ll be getting a “fancy” camera next week – just in time to get some good shots of the finished quilt!

Jenni (Mrs QQ)

4 responses to “WIP Wednesday: 08.21.2013

    • Kirsten – I think you are correct about the thicker flannel seams being the culprit. I’ve tried on a regular quilt sandwich w/o any trouble. I really dove into the deep end with a flannel quilt as my first quilt in >1 year, eh?

I get so tickled by comments & blog-love - say hi and leave some love:

