WIP Wednesday: 08.07.2013

It’s been quite some time since my last post when the my friend’s twins were born a good bit early (29 weeks)!  Since then they’ve been happy and healthy and are now in a crib together at a smaller hospital (very good stuff y’all!)  I also jetted away to Florida to visit my very dear friend for the baby shower for her little boy that I am making the hexagon quilt for.  So so so wonderful to see Sonia and help her celebrate her upcoming arrival!  I also got to visit my grandfather for a few days in FL and headed back to NC after stocking up big time on fabric at the amazing The Quilt Place in Rockledge, FL.  If you live nearby, seriously go visit – and don’t forget a drool rag!  Wherever I go, I always seem to find 1) a Running Store and 2) a Quilt store!  Unfortunately, my quilting progress got a bit stalled in July.

I am happy to report that after almost TWO WHOLE MONTHS, I have a walking foot for my machine.  Which means I now have to get cracking on finishing the hexagon quilt for Sonia.  And my niece’s quilt.  MY NIECE’S QUILT y’all.  Because two days after the walking foot arrived, little Olivia Grace graced us with her early arrival 🙂  She was born this Sunday and is a happy, healthy cutie pie!

Miss Olivia Grace

Miss Olivia Grace – check out that smile!

After meeting her Sunday, Mr QQ and I came home and I feverishly worked on her quilt.  Because next time I see her, it will be done (right? right!)!  At this rate, all four babies MAY have a quilt for their first Christmas.  Better late than never, eh?  So far the three girls have been early, so we’ll have to see when Sonia’s little mister decides to make his appearance!

With that said, I hereby unveil the finished quilt top for my niece’s quilt!  Thanks to Mr QQ for holding it while I snapped a pic – we went to a hard workout class after work today and his arms were painfully holding this up!  I didn’t have the heart to ask him to hold it a bit longer so I could get out my real camera for a better picture, so you’re stuck with a phone pic today.

Olivia Grace's quilt top.

Olivia Grace’s quilt top.

It is 52″ x 40″ and made with HSTs of Moda’s Marmalade Flannel.  I paired the HSTs and sashing/borders with an ivory flannel to add to the soft color palette of the Marmalade collection.  The main block is a Dutch Pinwheel and I used 16 Dutch Pinwheels with sashing between columns of pinwheels.  In the sashing are offset HST diamonds that are echoed in the corners of the quilt border.  My plan is to ditch stitch the pinwheels and diamonds to make them pop and then in the larger ivory blocks in the sashing do parallel vertical lines to echo the parallel lines that will be in the border (straight lines, 1″ apart).  The backing is the yellow pinwheel print in flannel again and I’m using a low loft cotton batting since there will be plenty of warmth and snuggly softness with the flannel.  I’m really tickled with the Dutch Pinwheel block for this fabric collection – fun and playful yet somewhat traditional and not overly girly.  Perfect for little Miss O.  🙂

I’ll get this puppy pin-basted this week and take it (and the pin-basted hexagon quilt) up to the mountains this weekend when I see my quilting guru (Mom).  Mr QQ and I are running a race that climbs a mtn ridge (paved road) with >1300′ elevation gain in a little over 3.5 miles.  We “ran” it last year (and by “ran”, I do mean hiking the one 18% grade climb near the start – ouch!).  It’s not a race I worry about my time on, but the views are SPECTACULAR and it’s one of those rare opportunities to get outdoors, breathe in fresh mountain air, and enjoy the beauty around you while you suffer for a bit.

Now if you’ll excuse me while I go check out some of y’all’s awesome WIPs over at Freshly Pieced and press this quilt top really well for basting!!

Mrs QQ

4 responses to “WIP Wednesday: 08.07.2013

  1. love this baby quilt – and i am so excited for you, aunt!!!! that race sounds torturous, but i know what you mean about the view. when i run in the NC mountains there is nothing like it! have so much fun this weekend and i can’t wait to see how you quilt this!

I get so tickled by comments & blog-love - say hi and leave some love:

