WIP Wednesday: 06.26.2013

Hey y’all!  A quick note before I dive into WIP updates.  Remember my very first quilt for baby Eden?  Well this past Saturday was her First Birthday party – ermahgerd!  She’s so stinking cute and her parents are so stinking awesome.  The theme for her party was pink lemonade – adorable!  I can’t wait to see what an awesome gal she’s going to grow up to be.  Hard to believe it’s been a year since my first quilt (with zero completed since) but I’m sure it’s even harder for her parents to believe she’s a year old now!  Love this little one and her parents too! 🙂

Don’t worry you quilting queens – I have exciting quilting news to share!

  1. I got the backing pieced for the Hexagon Love Quilt and pressed both it and the quilt top.  Y’all – that was a LOT of Y-seams to sew and a LOT of Y-seams to press.  But I’m really surprised at how well they turned out.  Seriously surprised.  For those of you who haven’t tackled hexagons (etc) because of Y-seams, go get some scraps and try a few because it’s really not that bad at all.  I got tired of them right around the last row of a baby quilt so I’m calling that a win.  It was awesome to see it all pressed nicely – Mr QQ even commented as much 🙂
  2. I ordered my new walking foot and free motion foot and am STALKING usps shipping progress.  (I totally get your pain now, Ashley)  These gems were scheduled for Monday arrival but here I am tapping my foot and waiting because…
  3. I have a basted quilt sandwich to quilt!!!  (Side note – for Eden’s quilt, my mom pin-basted it for me because of a fabric problem we had so this was my first time basting.)  Good golly, not my favorite.  Next time around I’m hosting a pin-basting party.  Wine included (just keep that away from the quilt and we’re good).
    Photo 1 (3)
    Mr Oliver was really confused as to why I screeched every time he stepped on the quilt while I had it on the floor to pin baste.  70 lb dog + dirt + uber-smooth quilt for basting is not a great combo.  It was late at night and he just wanted to cuddle his Momma and he loooves laying on blankies.  Not yours buddy, sorry.  He got lots of loves from me afterwards though.

From here on out, I won’t be posting any wide angle shots of the quilt just in case Ms Sonia includes Quasi-Quilter in her weekly blog feed.  Just some up close progress shots for the next few weeks, but I promise to take lots of finished photos before I jet away to FL to give it to her at her baby shower!

So while I sit here twiddling my thumbs and pacing for the mailman to come, let me know what you’ve been up to this weekend.  Also, any quilting tips would be most appreciated!  Linking up with Freshly Pieced this week.

Looking forward to actually quilting in the very near future,

Mrs QQ

9 responses to “WIP Wednesday: 06.26.2013

  1. Y seams are tricky. I had a bunch of those with my lone star. beautiful job on the hexies. Hope your walking foot arrives today!

    • They are tricky but after a few dozen I got a good rhythm going. I may have the guts to try a lone star now! Walking foot has been reordered (from a quilting company this time around) and will be in hand by Monday hopefully (I can’t lose one more week of quilting!).

  2. Hooray for more quilts! How do you want to quilt the hexies? I’m totally here if you have any questions. Awesome job on the y seams. Impressive.

    • Hey Melanie! Since I’ve now lost at least a week of quilting time (company sent it to the wrong address!), I’m revising the quilting plan so there will not be as much to get done before I fly out in 2 weeks to the shower. The pattern is essentially a grandmothers flower garden, but I like to thing of it as “gears” since its for a boy. I uploaded a sketch-up of the quilting plan to my photos page (https://quasiquilter.files.wordpress.com/2013/03/hexie-quilt-plan.png). The orange lines will be stitch-in-the-ditch and the blue lines will be 1/4″ echo stitching inside the gears. Finally, I’m hoping there is enough time left over to hand embroider little science-y things in the center (solid) hexie of each gear. Would you do all of the stitch-in the ditch for the entire quilt and then do the echoes or would you recommend starting with one gear and doing all of the stitching for it together? Thanks!

      • I love the plan! I think you can go either way, because the stitch in the ditch would give the whole quilt a foundation. But I might start in the middle and do one gear at a time working toward the edges to make sure there won’t be any bubbles or folds. You can focus on smoothing one gear at a time and adjust the basting if necessary.

        Good luck! I can’t wait to see pictures of it finished!

I get so tickled by comments & blog-love - say hi and leave some love:

