Weekend Wrap-up: Piecing Preparation and Quilt Designs

Getting my WIP list together this weekend, I checked on the forecast and saw this:

Rain much?

Rain much?

I got all giddy for a chance to sit inside and enjoy the A/C surrounded by fabric, fabric, and more fabric!  I donated blood this week and am about to start a hard round of training for upcoming races, so sitting around on my bum quilting sounded fantastic.  Plus, the mosquitoes have been vicious this week and I need to call my heroes to come spray the yard (those yard sprays really do work!).  It doesn’t get any better than listening to the rain with a nice mug of tea while doing something you love, does it?

Well, the rain held off (shocking!) during waking hours and we had a beautiful weekend here in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mtns.  I somehow still managed to be productive!  I taped up my cheapo flannel-backed tablecloth in the dining room/office/sewing room and got to work!

The unfortunate centerpiece of our dining room this weekend.  Also, hey there Mr Oliver - you photo-bomber!

The unfortunate centerpiece of our dining room this weekend. Also, hey there Mr Oliver – you photo-bomber!

This weekend I checked off some BIG items on my WIP list:

  1. I’ve hit the peak of Mt Everest – finished trimming all 336 HSTs for my niece’s baby quilt – whew!

    336 HSTs trimmed to 2.5" perfectly square...glad that's done!

    336 HSTs trimmed to 2.5″ perfectly square…glad that’s done!

  2. I grabbed a selection of the HSTs onto the design wall and worked on block design.  I’ve settled on HSTs into a Dutch Pinwheel.

    Dutch pinwheels

    Dutch pinwheels

  3. After realizing that there were enough HSTs per fabric to make 16 dutch pinwheels + 10 diamonds, I went back to the drawing board and sketched up the full quilt design in PowerPoint so that I wouldn’t pull on the bias edges of the HSTs trying to put them all on the design wall.  Now I can work on quilting blocks then put the 16 blocks on the wall – much easier to rearrange than 336 individual HSTs!

    B&W mock-up of design for niece's Dutch Pinwheel quilt.

    B&W mock-up of design for niece’s Dutch Pinwheel quilt.

  4. I finished cutting up all of my Robotics FQs into hexagons for Baby Boy Miller’s quilt

    Robotic Hexies <3

    Robotic Hexies ❤

  5. I sketched out designs for the twin’s baby quilts and wrote out a little tutorial and supplies list.  Will be shopping for fabric while exploring LQSs on my upcoming trip to Florida for Baby Boy Miller’s shower!

    Initial design for twin quilts

    Initial design for twin quilts

  6. Worked on the layout of Baby Boy Miller’s quilt.  Initial design (patchwork hexies) took quite a bit of time and in the end, I wasn’t totally satisfied – it was hard to rest the eyes on any part of the quilt.
    Hexie Quilt Design #1. OK, but not satisfied

    Hexie Quilt Design #1. OK, but not satisfied

    This morning I started from scratch and worked on a modified grandmothers flower garden with solids in the center of each.  Wayyyyy more happy with this:


    Neat trick – throw a B&W filter on and snap a picture of your design board to check the saturation of darks/lights and how evenly spread they are.  Again, documented chosen design and layout of hexie fabrics with lots of photos and wrote out a coded design on a hexagon design sheet by labeling each hexagon with a code letter for the fabric.

    Letter-coded design sheet.  This + pics = lifesaver

    Letter-coded design sheet. This + pics = lifesaver

    Mr QQ was kind enough to allow me to venture into a LQS during our errands this weekend.  I’ve never gone into this one before and will have to go back – lots of great fabrics (and great lighting!) in the store.  Snagged a marking pen to dot 1/4″ seams for all of the upcoming Y-seams for the hexie quilt.

    Mr QQ is lucky this is all I bought!

    Mr QQ is lucky this is all I bought!

Now back to work so I can start piecing – I’m excited to turn my machine on for the first time in wayyyyyyy too long!  Did you start something new this weekend or attack your WIP checklist?

~Mrs QQ

I get so tickled by comments & blog-love - say hi and leave some love:

