WiP Wednesday: 03.27.2013

Happy Happy Hump Day AND WiP Wednesday!

First, thanks for all the love last week for my first WiP Wednesday posting!  I had so much fun exploring other WiP Wednesday posts and seeing so many gorgeous projects.  This is something I could definitely get used to every week.

It was a busy weekend full of birthday celebrations for Mr QQ (one more year until the big 3-0!) but I did manage to make some good progress on several fronts!

Virtual Quilting Bee

Block 2 of Diary of a Quilter’s Virtual Quilting Bee was released on Friday and my first thought was “Oh how beautiful!” quickly followed by “Oh I hope there are tutorials for all of the Y-seams / paper piecing to get that star together!”  Luckily, it turned out to be pretty simple and the tutorial was really straight forward (hallelujah).  I love a complicated-looking block that whips up nice and easy.  Makes me feel like I’ve been quilting for more than two blinks of an eye.

Sunday I pulled out my stash of fabric for the quilt and had some tough choices.  I wanted to incorporate the greens in this block and decided to use a tone-on-tone for the background.  I whipped up the first version of the block Monday night and while I like the block, I”m now wishing I had switched the green and grey locations.  Hmmm…

My personal challenge with this block was to do two versions that would emphasize the pattern/fabrics differently.  Last night I pulled together the fabrics for the second version of Block 2 to sew later this week.  Looking forward to having it together for next week’s WiP!  Check out the flickr group and instagram (#VirtualQuiltingBee) to see everyone’s progress!

Ace of Cakes Quilt

This is the quilt that started it all and stopped just as quickly once graduate school started.  I saw a layer cake of Moda’s Garden Party by Blackbird Designs in a fabric store and wanted needed to do something with it.  Googling around the interwebs, I found the Ace of Cakes Quilt pattern and loved the use of flying geese as sashes with simple blocks that would show off the fabric.  I started the quilt but never really got anywhere before graduate school took over my life.

Fast forward 3+ years and I dug out the storage bin with all the fabric/pattern.

Pros: All of the fabric (binding and backing included) had already been purchased ($$), pressed, and cut per pattern instructions!  Whew – what a money and time saver.  I remembered getting through part of the flying geese (there are 100+), but not all of it.  The cream corner squares had all been stacked / aligned and had a diagonal drawn on each for the seam line.

Cons:  Enter the uber-fear as I unpacked.  “Oh no!  I did this sewing before I ever knew what a scant 1/4″ was!  What if I did the seams / trimming all wrong and have to scrap the whole thing?!?!” Wellll – it wasn’t thaaaat bad.  I had managed to sew one corner onto each of the 100+ geese and then trimmed the fabric and pressed the seam.  Turns out I pressed the seam to the colored fabric rather than the cream.  The pattern clearly states to press towards the cream corner.  Whoopsie!

Lesson learned:  Read the pattern 4,000 times before proceeding with any and all steps!  At least I didn’t hack off the wrong corner or anything…

So, as previously mentioned – I spent a heated NC State basketball game yelling at the TV while waving a hot hot iron (I wouldn’t recommend that) and RE-PRESSING all of those seams.  Then I happily chain-pieced the other corner onto the 100+ geese and got those suckers trimmed.  I’m only about 1/6 of the way through pressing that seam to complete the geese (see pic with pile of geese), but – hey – it’s progress.  Right?  Right!  Up next – squaring up the geese so they can fly (or at least make nice even sashing on my quilt).  I purchased a flying geese ruler – has anyone used one before?  Like it, Love it, Hate it?  Any tips/recs are welcome!

Baby Quilts / Projects

Whew – I promise I’m almost through.  Typing all this out makes me feel really productive – but also I’m realizing it’s time away from the machine. Hmm…

Yesterday I purchased fabric (I know, again!) for my HST baby quilt.  Design TBD – I’m sure that post will come soon.  I ordered Moda’s Flannel Marmalade Charm Pack by Bonnie and Camille.  I loved the marmalade collection at the recent quilt show I attended, but when I saw that it was also available in flannel I quickly decided to snatch some up for one of the FOUR baby blankets I have in the pipeline for friends.  I also grabbed up a yard of ivory quilting flannel to pair with the Marmalade prints for HSTs.

Source: Fat Quarter Shop (click pic to go)

Source: Fat Quarter Shop (click pic to go)

I’ve also been snatching up adorable flannel remanents at the local craft store for some side projects (burp clothes, etc – see pic).  Are these not just the cutest?  Can’t wait to cut into them!

WiP - purchased more flannel remanents for baby quilts/projects

WiP – purchased more flannel remanents for baby quilts/projects

Linking up with Freshly Pieced for WiP Wednesday.

And as we say here in the South, take care y’all!

-Mrs QQ

5 responses to “WiP Wednesday: 03.27.2013

  1. Pingback: WiP Wednesday: 04.03.2013 | Quasi-Quilter·

  2. Pingback: WiP Wednesday: 04.10.2013 | Quasi-Quilter·

I get so tickled by comments & blog-love - say hi and leave some love:

