Reusable Swiffer Mop Covers

I’ve been wanting to cross this project off my list for several months, and finally – with a new machine- I could.  Over the past few months I have been “greening” my habits, particularly with cleaning.  I have switched over to plant-based cleaning products or make my own.  One of my favorites is my hardwood floor cleaning system that cost me $2 at the dollar store.  $1 for a spray bottle and $1 for a microfiber cloth.  I fill the spray bottle with a vinegar dilution and throw in a few drops of therapeutic grade essential oils (Lemon Eucalyptus) that we have around the house.  We dab the oil on our wrists in the summertime for mosquito repellent – smells great, really works, and all natural!  Anyway, back to the cleaning.  I was using safety pins to secure the microfiber towel around my swiffer mop for floor cleaning.  I love it because I can use it for dry and wet floor cleaning and then throw it in the wash for endless uses!

Photo 66

But a better solution?  Found it on pinterest of course – sewn mop covers from Natural Nesters blog.  A few weeks ago I was in the local craft store and picked up a 1/4 yard of super soft fuzzy chenille for this project.  On sale, the 1/4 yard cost about $3 and I think I could probably get at least a half dozen, may twice that out of the tall width.  In summary, here’s how you can make one in UNDER 5 minutes for about $0.30 each!

Washable / Reusable Swiffer Mop CoversSwiffer1

  • Measure your swiffer mop’s length and width (mine measured 10 x 4.5 inches).
  • Cut 3 pieces: a long piece (11 x 5.5 inches) and two short pieces (3 x 5.5 inches).
  • Swiffer2Put the short pieces on the ends of the long piece, **right sides together**
  • Sew 1/4 inch seam on the three edges of each short piece
  • Turn inside out and voila – you.are.done.  

That easy, I promise!  If you can sew a straight seam you can have this project done in less than 5 minutes.

Tip: wash without fabric softener to keep it extra clingy for dusting floors

Photo 62

One response to “Reusable Swiffer Mop Covers

  1. Pingback: Weekend Wrap-up | Quasi-Quilter·

I get so tickled by comments & blog-love - say hi and leave some love:

