WiP Wednesday: 03.20.2013 – VQB Block 1

Welcome to The Quasi-Quilter – it’s my first WiP Wednesday link-up post so let me catch you up to speed here quickly and then show you my first WiP on this new blog.

Virtual Quilting Bee

Virtual Quilting Bee

About a month ago, I found a great deal on a gently used Viking machine on craigslist to replace my mother’s vintage Viking machine I killed making my first quilt.  (Word to the wise – plug your machine into a surge protector!)  The fire was lit to buy the machine so I could get busy working on baby quilts for all of my friends that got preggers this winter (eek!  soo excited for them!)  In the process, however, I started to read a lot about quilting on blogs and starting bookmarking lots of great resources.  As I set out to make four baby quilts, I decided that I needed a quilt to work on for myself, and I’ve always wanted to do a sampler block quilt.  Imagine my excitement when I read about  the start of the Virtual Quilting Bee that would start in March 2013 on Amy Smart’s blog!  Perfecto!!  Blocks are released every 2 weeks giving me more than enough time to procrastinate and still get them done…

I recommend pinning it for future reading if you haven’t checked it out yet!

After googling and oogling at fabric websites, I decided that I would based my fabrics around Joel Dewberry’s Aviary 2 in Granite/Mustard and add in other fabrics in plum and sage colors to go with the colors of my living room.  So off to Etsy I went to grab up some of the remaining Aviary 2 fabric from sites and in the meantime also went into one of my LQS to start grabbing extra FQ for the quilt.  Because each block in the VQB is designed by someone different, the total amount of fabric is TBD including how much variety and total yardage to have.  Amy had some suggestions to help, but I figured it was the perfect excuse to hoard fabric and start building my stash!  By basing my fabric around Aviary 2 but adding in other collections and colors, I’ll have lots of flexibility to grab and add more fabric from new collections as needed without worrying about finding more fabric from a few season ago.  Anytime I’ve done a project it has been with pre-cut bundles like layer cakes and jelly rolls from a fabric collection.  It’s a bit intimidating to break that habit and make my own grouping of fabrics, but Jeni from In Color Order has a fantastic series on The Art of Choosing that really helped.

Block #1 (a star block!) was released the on Friday March, 8th – the day before I went to the Charlotte Quilters Guild Quilt Show.  I grabbed a few more fat quarters at the Quilt Show and enjoyed looking at all the beautiful and creative quilts on display.  Talk about inspiration for a beginner quilter!  I rushed home, picked out 3 fabrics from my current grouping and set off to cut the fabric.  Then I realized, I had a choice on the cut of the fabric.  Oh goodness – so many decisions!  I could cut the center square piece so that the circle/scrollwork pattern would be centered.  OR, I could cut the square so that it was the center of the circles.  What’s a girl to do?  Make BOTH!  So I cut away and got back to the fabric this weekend and finished both versions of Block #1.  Finished on National Quilting Day, nonetheless!  I get about 10 min of full sun on our back deck for photography after work and yesterday was just not my day.  The background of the block is a plum batik fabric, the corners are a mustard with grey crosshatching and of course, the center fabric is granite/mustard from Aviary 2.

Block 1, Version 1

Block 1, Version 1 – Center Block with Diamond

Block 1, Version 2

Block 1, Version 2 – Center Block with Circle

So excited - I squealed when I finished and saw my matching seams!
Side by Side shot. So excited – I squealed when I finished and saw my matching seams!

So there you have it – my first two (real) quilt blocks!  I’ve never done a star before and was nervous about my points.  I spent a few weeks on side projects with my new machine (making yoga mat straps, reusable swiffer dusters, kindle case) that afforded me opportunities to discover the proper needle position for a scant 1/4″ seam.  Time…well..spent.  These blocks whipped right up with perfect points!  Gasp!  Mr QQ feigned excitement for me (Bless!)  Truth be told – he helped select the fabrics for the blocks and I love him for it!  Looking forward to Block #2 coming out this Friday and plan to include it in my next WiP Wednesday post.

Do you have a favorite version of the block?  Leave some love and let me know.

Thanks for checking in lovelies!  See you next Wednesday!

WIP Wednesday at Freshly Pieced

– Mrs QQ

12 responses to “WiP Wednesday: 03.20.2013 – VQB Block 1

    • Thanks Heather! I’m really glad I did the block both ways bc it creates a very different look. Fabric is addicting but I think the therapy for the addiction is just hoarding more 🙂

  1. They’re both nice, but the diamond in the center block gives a very interesting secondary pattern – it looks completely different!

  2. Pingback: WiP Wednesday: 03.27.2013 | Quasi-Quilter·

I get so tickled by comments & blog-love - say hi and leave some love:

